News +
Peintures > Autonomes

coopérations 17/18

Aluminium frames, pieces of Perspex (either transparent or painted on the back), PVC, PC. A sweep of paint, a sprayed line, a painted folded piece of paper, a translucent canvas… The Coopérations bring together all these components in a combined set of simple strokes. The different actions and materials work together within the structure of the picture created by the aluminium frame. The spectator’s seeing then becomes palpable.
Transparency is seen as a dynamic condition of the vision of painting, the gaze that crosses it. A great modern principle defines painting by its opacity, the fact that it is created practically layer by layer. This key fact allows no material exception and has a unique relationship with the construction of the visible, which is traditionally associated with painting.
The gaze comes and goes between the transparency of the Perspex, the visible frame, the gaps in the structure and the relative opacity of the painted material, which lets us glimpse behind the white wall. The reflections create the depth of the different planes and hint at a movement in space required to perceive the whole.
Cooperaciones can be found in the different parts: the components that make up the picture, the materials used, the internal logic of its assembly and the different paint strokes inscribed there. But there is also cooperation between the context containing these components and the spectator’s gaze, in a complex process that never ends because it is constantly changing and entails physical and mental movement.This is one of the reasons why the Coopérations are—almost by definition—incomplete, although once the pieces leave the workshop this physical process of formally shaping the object stops and stands still, waiting to be reactivated in an exhibition space.Transparency versus opacity is an old opposition in painting which might recall another exacerbated opposition found in today’s financial markets. And on the same plane of analogies it also evokes the fact that in economics, cooperation is defined mainly in opposition to competition—which in itself constitutes an excellent reason to paint here and now.

News +
Peintures > Autonomes

coopérations 17/18

11/12——- 13/14——-15/16

Des châssis en profilés d’aluminium, des méthacrylates transparents ou peints par derrière, du PVC expansé, des feuilles de polycarbonate. Un balayage de peinture, une ligne bombée, un papier peint et plié, une toile translucide,…
Les « Coopérations » réunissent ces éléments avec de gestes simples, combinés entre eux. Sous l’apparence des tableaux ils permettent aux différentes actions et matériaux de collaborer avec un même objectif général, de jouer avec la perception du regard.
La transparence est saisie comme une condition dynamique de la vision de la peinture, contraire au principe qui veut qu’elle soit définie par son opacité, par le fait que toute peinture est déposée couche par couche. Ce fait fondamental garde finalement une relation assez particulière avec la construction du visible traditionnellement associé à la peinture.
Le regard va et vient entre la transparence du méthacrylate, la mise en évidence du châssis, des béances dans la structure qui nous donne à voir le mur blanc, et la relative opacité de la matière picturale. Les reflets et les profondeurs des différents plans appellent au déplacement corporel dans l’espace.
La « coopération » est alors celle des différentes parties ; celles qui conforment le tableau, les matériaux qui le composent, sa logique d’assemblage, les différents gestes picturaux qui sont inscrits. Mais il y a aussi coopération entre le contexte où se trouvent les parties et son adresse au regard du spectateur. C’est un processus complexe et qui n’est en réalité jamais fini car il change tout le temps. Ceci est une des raisons pour lesquelles les « Coopérations » sont incomplètes, presque par définition, même si l’objet est arrêté au moment où il sort de l’atelier.Transparence contre opacité, c’est une vielle opposition qui rappelle très probablement celle exacerbée des marchés financiers d’aujourd’hui, et qui dans un même plan d’analogies nous évoque aussi qu’un des sens principal de la coopération est d’être antagoniste à la concurrence, chose qui constituerait certainement toute une bonne raison pour faire des tableaux.